Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
MHawkins
Viewer III

Associate of (ISC)2 Toward CISSP

I have roughly 3 years of experience and a Bachelor's Degree in Cybersecurity as well as Security+ and CEH certifications. I understand I can apply for a waiver for 1 year of experience for my degree or one of my certs.

If my math is correct, I lack 1 year of experience to start the endorsement process. I do have a CISSP who will endorse me when the time comes.

My question, and it may seem trivial, but is it appropriate to claim this achievement in my signature block now or do I wait until after I have the full CISSP certification? If I do claim it now, how exactly do I word it: Associate of (ISC)2 working toward CISSP or Associate of (ISC)2? And, in what order would it appear along with my Sec+ and CEH?  

Thanks in advance!

5 Replies
Early_Adopter
Community Champion

I would say it would not be appropriate to reference CISSP until you were certified.

Once you passed the exam you would still not be able to claim anything about CISSP until you were certified, so if you were an Associate of ISC2 you wouldn't be able to specific which exam you had passed.

Once you are certified though some thoughts from the community and placement of letters in signature blocks:

https://community.isc2.org/t5/Career/Listing-Certifications-and-Degrees-in-Signature-Blocks-or/td-p/...

https://www.isc2.org/-/media/ISC2/Documents/logoguidelines.ashx?la=en&hash=C14D5C1A379D142E3928BE1DB...

denbesten
Community Champion

@Early_Adopter is correct. You might also review (ISC)²'s policies regarding logo usage, both the green square-ish thing and the 5 letters "CISSP".  They are a bit protective of their trademarks.

amandavanceISC2