Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
johnjo4n
Newcomer I

Cyber PhD or DSc for Career Advancement?

Good Day Ladies and Gentlemen:

Wanted to pull from colleagues here and get your inputs.

About a year ago, I finished my Masters in Cyber Systems Engineering and the university I was graduating from didn't have a Doctorate program that could fit my work restrictions. 

Today, I am a Program ISSM and decided to go for a doctorate in making myself more appealing to Cyber Executive Leadership within six years.

First program is Cyber Leadership PhD just as it sounds there is little to no technical area of study

Second program is Doctorate in Cybersecurity where it is 1/3 Technical-Equipment, 1/3 Technical-Admin, and 1/3 Leadership.

My gut says it should be the first program, but any insight would be greatly appreciated.

Sincerely,

John F. PMP CISSP

10 Replies
denbesten
Community Champion

Verifiable experience, an ability to talk to people with no signs that you are trying to BS them, and a calm, warm approachable personality will get you much further than any more paper credentials.  Having one or two pieces of paper probably will help you get the first interview, but you still need to make a positive impression on each and every interviewer. 

CraginS
Defender I

@johnjo4n said,

"Today, I am a Program ISSM and decided to go for a doctorate in making myself more appealing to Cyber Executive Leadership within six years.

"First program is Cyber Leadership PhD just as it sounds there is little to no technical area of study

"Second program is Doctorate in Cybersecurity where it is 1/3 Technical-Equipment, 1/3 Technical-Admin, and 1/3 Leadership.

"My gut says it should be the first program, but any insight would be greatly appreciated."

=-=-=

John,