cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
BMwine
Newcomer I

Seeking PhD education advice

Hello,

I am in a bit of a dilemma and I am seeking advice from the community.

I am a 40+ security professional wondering whether it is worth it pursuing a Doctor of Philosophy in Information Security. I graduated with a Masters degree in information security a couple of years ago, and since then, I can not seem to find a job that matches with my qualifications. Even the additional certifications do not seem to help ...

I know it is a very costly venture, but is it worth the dare just for job satisfaction ?

Regards,

Brian.

20 Replies
JKWiniger
Community Champion

@emb021 It really shows the mentality of a company. One places wants to find a person who knows EXACTLY what they need, which rarely happens. Then better companies understand that if a person knows one firewall, but it's not there firewall the clearly understand all the concepts and and learn their firewall easily, or they look at your background and see all that you know and all that you have done and get that you have done enough so you can learn and do anything that is needed! These companies looking for these perfect UNICORNS will rarely find them and if they do they don't want to pay them! Deidra Diamond founder of CyberSN has been doing a good job simplifying job descriptions and streamlining things. Her only problem is that she need to be in more areas! Do more fast Deidra! hahah

John-

rslade
Influencer II

> CISOScott (Community Champion) posted a new reply in Career on 07-10-2020 09:42

> If you thinking that getting a PHD is going to get you a job you will be
> disappointed. A degree may fill a required checkbox but your personality and job
> skills is what usually get you the position.

I was asked to give a "what to expect from the job market" type speech to a class from [fairly famous school].

I started out by asking how many want jobs in tech support.
Not many.