cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
chirosports
Newcomer I

Passed Today

Hello All,

Took the exam today and passed.  It was considerably different than the pre and post-exam from the self-study course.  It took me less than 45 minutes to complete the exam.

First, I have zero experience in IT.  However, I do have experience in healthcare compliance as I am certified as a CHC (Certified Healthcare Compliance and CHPC (Certified Healthcare Privacy Compliance) through HCCA.  There are some overlaps such as HIPAA and NIST, but other than that, no technical knowledge around security. 

Second, you have 2 hours to complete 100 questions.  If I remember correctly, 25 are "Trial questions" which aren't graded and 75 will be graded.  Unfortunately, you don't know which ones are trial questions v/s live questions. 

Third, you don't have the option to skip a question or come back to a question.  Once you click an answer and move to next page, that's it.  Your answers are locked for grading.  I don't think there is an option to return back to a previous question.  So make sure you are 100% sure you are choosing the right answer.

My quick takeaways:

1.  They hit Chapter 4 - Network Security pretty hard.  I think I had at least 20 questions from this chapter

a.  There were about 5 questions regarding the cloud service model (SaaS, IaaS, PaaS).  Make sure you know the different concepts and when they apply.  

b.  Know the ports and protocol.  Again, I had about 3 or 4 questions on this concept.

c.  Know concepts of TCP/IP v/s OSI. 

2.  Know the definitions and what each of the acronyms stands for.  For example, if you don't know what DLP stands for, it will be harder to answer the questions.

3.  Know the different type of threats and intrusions.  

4.  Read questions carefully.  Many times, there were two answers that could automatically be discarded.  The other two were viable choices.  You had to choose the right one.