Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
kguyah
Viewer

Certified in Cybersecurity vs CompTIA Security+

Hi, does anyone know if the Certified in Cybersecurity certificate is a higher level of the Security+ certificate? I am currently studying for the Security+ certificate and plan to tackle the CC next.

16 Replies
AndreaMoore
Community Manager

@kguyah 

@kguyah wrote:

Hi, does anyone know if the Certified in Cybersecurity certificate is a higher level of the Security+ certificate? I am currently studying for the Security+ certificate and plan to tackle the CC next.

It would make sense for you to take Certified in Cybersecurity first. Certified in Cybersecurity is truly an entry-level certification. It is recommended that candidates have basic IT knowledge, but no work experience in cybersecurity or formal education is required. 

For CompTIA Security+, it is recommended that candidates have at least two years of IT administration experience with a security focus. 

Certified in Cybersecurity provides an onramp for newcomers on their path to advanced cybersecurity certifications like the CISSP and future leadership roles. And because the Certified in Cybersecurity training teaches the fundamentals around the terminology and addresses the “why” of cybersecurity, it is an excellent opportunity for candidates to explore whether cybersecurity is a fit for their interests.

ISC2 Community Manager
kguyah
Viewer

Awesome, thank you very much for that information Andrea, that is very helpful.

gidyn
Contributor III

Also to consider:

nkeaton
Newcomer III