cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
dz
Viewer

Security Risks and Mitigation Strategies for Using Unmanaged Guest Wi-Fi

Hi everyone,

I'm not a network expert, and I’m seeking advice regarding the security implications of connecting to a guest Wi-Fi network at a remote office. Our situation is as follows:

In a remote office, we have employees who will be connecting their personal devices (BYOD) or corporate laptops to a guest Wi-Fi, which is not managed by our organization. From this connection, they will connect to our corporate VPN to access our network file shares and use Office 365 webmail.

My Questions:

1. What are the potential risks of using this public, unmanaged Wi-Fi to connect to our corporate VPN and access Office 365?

2. Are there any strategies we can implement to make this public Wi-Fi connection more secure?

3. Since there are no wired Ethernet connections in this office and we do not have access to their modem to connect anything directly, would it be feasible to purchase our own wireless router with built-in third-party VPN capabilities and connect it wirelessly to the guest Wi-Fi? Would this approach enhance security, and does it make sense or is it even possible in this context?

Any insights or recommendations would be greatly appreciated! 🙂

2 Replies
denbesten
Community Champion

WiFi that you do not own is no more or less risky than wired that you do not own. 

Most likely, your VPN group has released guidance about the use of your computer in a coffee shop.  That advise can typically be applied to any network you don't own. But for an authoritative answer, the question should be directed towards the team that manages the VPN.  They will know the rules even if they did not write them.