Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
kevbod
Newcomer I

Centralised vs decentralised tracking apps - security

As a UK resident, i am doing some personal research into the pros and cons of centralised vs decentralised apps. The UK National Health Service has chosen the centralised approach.

Using the BBC article below and other sources, it seems when an infected user reports themselves in a decentralised model, the database of users is downloaded to the phone itself, the phone then does the contact matching and risk analysis itself plus sends alerts.

Can anyone help me to identify exactly what is going to the phone of the corona virus infected user?

1. A whole world DB, a single country, the phone users local area?
  2. What Personally Identifiable Information, if any is included in this DB or is it just the anonymous ID?

My initial thought here was that the whole DB is being sent to a phone whose security status cannot be verified and any Tom, Fred or Harry could download that DB merely by downloading the App and claiming to be infected.

If the uptake of these apps is as wide as expected, there are possibly huge security implications here.

Your thoughts and responses will be gratefully received.   Kevin Boddrell CISSP

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/technology-52355028

5 Replies
denbesten
Community Champion

Matching happens on your own phone.  Here's the general idea: