Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
DivyaNangia
Newcomer I

Passed CISSP....Journey Continues

17 Replies
CISOScott
Community Champion

A cert alone will not get you a job. You have to have experience. You also have to have good interview skills. I have applied to many jobs over the course of my career. Sometimes it took many applications just to get to the interview stage. Once I got to the interview stage I was usually able to sell myself enough to get the job. In the beginning though, I struggled, How good are your interview skills? Most people do not practice them and it shows when they get interviewed. As a hiring manager I have seen many people with good skills, interview poorly and not get offered the job. I have also seen many people applying for jobs which were a reach based on their skills, and some were not even qualified for entry level positions but applied anyway.

Is your resume strong in other skills? It seems like college students who are graduating have the same problem, lots of knowledge but little practical experience. What have you done to gain experience?

Baechle
Advocate I

Ken,

Divya passed and has the CISSP and therefore at least 4 years of experience to account for.  It certainly sounds as though its a problem with skills/requirements matching in the resume or interviewing.

Eric B.

canLG0501
Newcomer III

Most certainly I would say that the CISSP is enough.  I would encourage you to not give up on the field entirely.  Keep in mind that positions become available in seasons in certain areas.  Try to determine the best hiring months for your area and make sure that your resume and application letter are updated.  Include other management related courses that you have taken on your resume and focus on a specific industry where you interested in working.  I am sure you will find something soon.

vt100
Community Champion

Divya,

Some of the traits of good security professional are, in my opinion, persistence and perseverance.