cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
fedoracore123
Newcomer III

What exactly is the requirement for getting CISSP certified

Hi everyone, 

This has been a concern for me, for sometime now (Almost two years). I am getting conflicting information regarding the requirements to get CISSP certified. According to Mike Chapple (Author of one of the resources) he is giving this answer "You need to have five years of cybersecurity experience to earn CISSP. I’d suggest starting with Security+" 

Here mentions that "Cybersecurity experience" not just IT experience. 

Who is correct here? I have second thoughts of taking the exam because of this. I have more than 14 years of experience. When I checked with other two  CISSP certified individuals, they point out that you need experience in any one of the domains not "cybersecurity" specifically.

24 Replies
Kaity
Community Manager

No, I wouldn't say you're "in the dark" as you know your experience best and can read the CISSP requirements to know if you meet them. As an organization, (ISC)² cannot tell you prior to testing with 100% certainty that you qualify, because the formal review process must still be done for your experience, background qualifications and endorsement from another certified member. 

And since I'm not in that department, I don't want you to misunderstand my opinion of your experience as an official endorsement. 

If anyone is able to pass the CISSP exam and but falls short of the experience requirements, they become an Associate of (ISC)² and have up to 6 years to earn the required experience. Once you earn it, you let us know and then you become a CISSP-certified member based on your already-passed exam. 

fedoracore123
Newcomer III