Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
ldmvcd
Viewer II

Given my position, sscp or cissp, thoughts?

Hello!

Your thoughts/advise are very much appreciated!

My background: 

M.Sc. Computer Science (IT Sec. focussed). 6 years of experience in the QA industry, testing IT Sec. products. Took a break of 3 years to pursue a degree in psychology (with a part-time IT Helpdesk gig on the side)

Sweden

Goal:

Want to go back to IT and specifically IT Security. Either management or more hands-on.

Why did I chose to certify myself:

To get a foot into the door. Validate my skills and knowledge. To show employers that regardless of the break in my career I am still employable in the IT Sec. industry.

Current Investments:

I have already spent 2 months (average 3 hours a day) studying towards the CISSP CBK. (didn't consider SSCP or Security+ or other beginner/mid-level certifications when I started studying)

Been studying on my own time and the certifications will be self-funded, so cost is an important consideration.

Others:
Lacking the required experience so will get only the CISSP Associate. I am hoping this is equivalent to an actual CISSP (?).

My thoughts:

CISSP is difficult but will open the most doors. It is however more expensive than SSCP and the fact that I will be an Associate and not a full holder. SSCP is cheaper, but also a lower ranked than the CISSP but since I have already put in 2 months studying for CISSP, the chances are higher I will pass the SSCP anyway. SSCP is cheaper and with my experience/studies I should be able to be a full-member rather than a CISSP Associate.

Future:

I plan to do CompTIA Pentest+ after to get more hands-on knowledge. I have always enjoyed the idea of Penetration Testing and Vulnerability Assessment. Lower cost is a major factor here compared to, say, CEH.

Your thoughts/advise?