cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
archicissp
Newcomer II

My journey to CISSP

My journey to CISSP

I passed my CISSP exam in 1st attempt about a week ago (on 12/18/2018) but could not write in detail. I have benefited immensely by the esteemed members of this community so wanted to take the time and write about my journey. Here it is:

1st of all Special Thanks to :

• Members of this community, especially Unixgeek21 and several others.

• Members of CISSP Community at Discord.

• Kelly at Cybrary for her devotion to the Security professional community.

• My instructor at InfoSec Boot camp.

My Experience

I have 23 years of experience in IT and worked on several mission critical projects in different capacity including PM, EA, Security (IAM, RM, DR, BCP, Encryption and others), SM and several other roles.

I have worked in both Commercial as well as Govt.

I have two masters (MBA & MS in IS) and BE Degrees. And several Industry leading certificates PMP,CSM, Security+, ITIL, SAFe4.5 POMP, SA, TOGAF and several others.

My motivation for CISSP (what is your motivation ?).

IT Security has been my passion for quite sometime. I have often been impressed by CISSP professionals with their knowledge and confidence. I knew that it is very challenging certification and that's what motivated me.

I think preparation for CISSP takes a huge toll on all the aspects of your life ( Personal, Social , Professional). So one should definitely weigh the reason why they want to do CISSP. Once you decide to do that you should be focused and make it your 1st priority. Remember that all other aspects of your life will suffer so do it as fast as you can.

My Preparation

About a year ago I googled CISSP Training and hit InfoSec Boot camp which I took during 1st week of March. I was overwhelmed. But I definitely got the guidance on how to prepare for CISSP and soon realized that it was starting point.