Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
ckazle
ISC2 Team

CISSPs: How did you prepare for the CCSP exam?

As a CISSP who studied for and passed the CCSP exam, how did you prepare?  What did you find valuable?  Did you learn through self-study, if so, what books did you buy?  Did you attend an official training course, if so, which one?  What was your study plan?  What's your secret for success?  We want to hear from you! 

98 Replies
Keelan_Stewart
Newcomer II

I know this is not what people want to hear but it was my experience.  I got a Bachelor's and Master's degree in Information Assurance before I took the CISSP (after learning that the CISSP was worth more than degrees to some employers).  I didn't really study for the CISSP, because over the course of 6-7 years in college, I had learned most of those topics already.  I did do the official (ISC)2 study guide practice tests a few times, to get a feel for the question styles.  One aspect that is often overlooked is trying to relax the night before - don't stay up late trying to cram those last few practice exams - get a good night's sleep and go into the exam refreshed.

mentogeek
Newcomer I

I just passed CISSP, and that's what I did to prepare and hope this will help: 

it took me 4 months to do the below with min 1 -2 hour per day "work days", around 4 hours during off days as I work on shift basis so my off are 2-3 days xD 😄 which is awesome for the preparation: 

1 - I watched the awesome Kelly Handerhan's videos at cybrary IT, it gives a good overview and put you in the right mindset for the cissp 
https://www.cybrary.it/course/cissp/

2 - CISSP (ISC)2 Certified Information Systems Security Professional : from wiley.com book

Sybex- 7th edition , very detailed but this was also useful for the cissp mindset. 

3 - CISSP official practice tests , this was awesome to test your preparation.