Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Draught
Viewer

Associate of ISC2 - IT security job prospects?

I've read recently that you can get the CISSP without the five years experience.

Anyway would companies hire an entry level security analyst if they were an Associate of ISC2?

It will be a lot of work to study and pass this test, so before I consider that I need to find out if a company would even hire me.

I work in IT currently as basically tier 3 helpdesk. I have 3 years experience and I have Bachelor's in IT. I wonder if an employer would consider me if were an Associate of ISC2? Once I had a security job I don't think it would take long to earn full CISSP.

4 Replies
Steve-Wilme
Advocate II

You might also look at qualification such as SSCP (as the experience qualifications are less and you may already meet them) or possible other courses such as CompTIA Security + or SANS courses to initially get into the InfoSec field.  Once you've worked in InfoSec for a while the CISSP should be easier as you'll be able to relate some of it to your work experience more readily.

-----------------------------------------------------------
Steve Wilme CISSP-ISSAP, ISSMP MCIIS
CraginS
Defender I

@Draught wrote:

I've read recently that you can get the CISSP without the five years experience.

No, not really; only if you have an academic degree that allows you to qualify with four years experience plus the degree.

@Draught wrote:

Anyway would companies hire an entry level security analyst if they were an Associate of ISC2?