Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
harryc1127
Newcomer I

Am I allowed to say i'm studying for cissp

So i'm applying for new jobs, Am I allowed to mentioned on my CV that I am currently studying to pass CISSP? Or this against the ethics rules?

10 Replies
csjohnng
Community Champion

Put aside "ethics rules".

What is the point/message you want to bring to the audience (your CV readers?) by saying you are studying CISSP?

John
harryc1127
Newcomer I

That I have an active interest in persuing a career within cyber security / information security

csjohnng
Community Champion

Just an advice on CV.

CV is just a limited "space" ( and time) to describe and draw attention to the recruiter and the hiring manager.

Recruiter and hiring manager will have limited time to scan through your cv and your CV should be concise and precise.

If I am a hiring manager, either I might be interest in your certification (which you have already obtained) or what you have done in your current and previous job/experience. Unless you really have nothing more to add ( even this is the case, still I won't suggest you to put this, it gives me negative impression).

If you are looking for junior role in security, I would suggest you to put more effort to describe your career achievement/aspiration.

If it's a senior role, I would expect to see certification rather than what you are studying.

John
CISOScott
Community Champion

You are allowed to say you are studying for anything. You just can't claim to possess the CISSP until you actually do. Some employers will ask for your ISC2 id and verify you are still a CISSP in good standing.