cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
jhildebrand
Newcomer II

Study Tips Needed

Hello all,

I am currently studying for my third CISSP exam and could really use some help with study tips/tricks.

Any help is greatly appreciated. Thank you.

Sincerely, Jessica Hildebrand

11 Replies
esprague
Viewer

Hi Jessica, I passed my CISSP exam last week and started the endorsement process.  I found many questions on the exam ambiguous and honestly I wasn't sure if I would pass or not.  It was really difficult.  I am relieved to have it behind me. 

I can share that I prepared for the exam by studying the material from multiple angles.

1. I purchased and studied the self-study CBT course from ISC2.  I did all the quizzes and the practice test.

2. I reviewed the corresponding body of knowledge material

3. I purchased ISC2 CISSP Official Study Guide by Mike Chapple, James Michael Stewart, and Darril Gibson.  This material was organized somewhat differently than the original body of knowledge book.  As such, it provided a different angle to review the material, which helped learning the material.

4. I purchased ISC2 CISSP Official Practice Tests, second edition, by Mike Chapple and David Seidl, and did all the practice exams.

5. Taking from the idea of flashcards that were provided by the CBT mentioned in item 1 above, I made my own flashcards on 4x6 index cards.  I ended up with over 400 index cards of key concepts.  I reviewed these from time to time.

6. When I had difficulty with certain concepts, I found YouTube videos helpful.  You may want to view multiple videos by different authors to help solidify your understanding.