cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
jarias15
Newcomer I

Confirm my experience.

Hello Everyone,

Thanks for all the great work you do. I am writing this post because I need help from anybody that is willing to help. I am studying for my CISSP exam, and I have a decade of IT experience. I have heard that some experience are allowed for the CISSP. All I need is for someone to look at my profile and tell me if with my experience I qualify to be CISSP certified. I know I can be an associate if I do not have the required experience. But I just want to know if someone can help. I will leave my LinkedIn attached.

https://www.linkedin.com/in/jefrey-arias

6 Replies
CraginS
Defender I

@jarias15 

Jeffrey,

Congratulations on your new career goal.

Now, in answer to your request:

You first!

That is, build a custom resumé or c.v. that focuses specifically on your info systems security experience.

This, of course, means you first have to read and understand the CISSP experience requirements, then reorganize your work history into activities that fit that requirement.

You may find yo do not need any of us to review your experience.

This advice is along the same lines given to job hunters: 

Keep a generic resumé handy for job fairs and surprise opportunities

BUT

When applying for a specific position research both the job requirements and the company or institution. Then prepare a customized resumé that targets the company, the industry, and that position.

Your page may be different, but I have yet to see any LinkeDin page that is an adequate resumé.

Good luck, and let us know how your own analysis goes.

D. Cragin Shelton, DSc
Dr.Cragin@iCloud.com
My Blog
My LinkeDin Profile
My Community Posts
jarias15
Newcomer I

Thank you for this great advice. This has been the greatest advise I got so far.
Kaity
Community Manager