Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
jeanpreema22
Viewer

CISSP Exam

I am planning to answer the CISSP exam before Oct 31 2022. can anyone suggest how I could start my preparation? I am a beginner in cybersecurity.

6 Replies
JoePete
Advocate I

@jeanpreema22 wrote:

I am planning to answer the CISSP exam before Oct 31 2022. can anyone suggest how I could start my preparation? I am a beginner in cybersecurity.

It was a while ago that I took the exam. My experience is obviously dated. Primarily I used two books focused on CISSP prep. One was the official CISSP study guide. The other was a little similar from another publisher. While they covered the same content, they did it in a different order and stye and I found that helpful. 

But let me start with your reference to being a "beginner" in cybersecurity. I assume you have the five years experience but maybe in a limited way. For me, my work experience was very helpful. I think one of the real challenges of the industry is pigeon-holing people into limited roles - you're a system admin, so you don't touch the network, or the DNS, etc. or heaven forbid we have you on a group recommending policy. Notwithstanding separation of duties, you can't learn security in a silo.

I took the test long before the computer adaptive version. I don't think I can offer much help there, other than my experience you had plenty of time on the traditional test. That said, you need to condition your mind to test taking. I think I gave myself a good five months or so lead time to prep. So two months may be a little tight.

denbesten
Community Champion

CISSP is not for those "new" to cybersecurity. Keep in mind that you can not actually be issued a CISSP without experience, so you might as well use the experience as part of your studying. Here is my recommended study path:

1. Attain your CC
  2. Get a job in cyber security and soak it all in for 1-2 years
  3. Attain your SSCP