cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
DrK
Newcomer I

Self Study or Enroll in ISC2 Course?

Hi there

I am an ISC2 Instructor, an adjunct Professor in cybersecurity and I received my CGRC certificate last year.
Many of my students ask me if they should enroll in an ISC2 course or study on their own.

I always answer that it is a trick question and the answer is both! You should enroll in a good ISC2 course and study on your own. 

Here are some thumb rules about certification that I got from my mentors, mentees and other students

1. This is a technical certification. Make sure that you have 2-3 years of experience in Governance/Risk/Compliance before you start working on this certification. You will get much more if you have the experience. While there an option to get this certificate with the required experience, most students got more from preparation for this exam because they could learn at work

2.  If you like a structured approach - use the self learning modules by ISC2, it is very interactive and it gives a great overview

3. If you like interacting with your instructor, with your classmates and would like your training to be spread over 8 weeks, I recommend the 8 week instructor led courses. You get access to the course material for 6 months.

4. If you are prepared well, enroll in the 5 day workshop as a great review before you go for the exam.

5. The bottom line is that you have to read the standards and be very familiar with them. Start with this standard.

NIST SP 800-37 Rev 2, Guide for Applying the Risk Management Framework to Federal Information Systems  

Many of my students and I benefited from the Free flashcards that ISC2 makes available.

Check out the graphics and links below.

Dr K

Sudesh Kannan, CISSP, CGRC PhD
Cyber Security  Professional 

Self-Study Resources can be found here: https://www.isc2.org/Training/Self-Study-Resources

Here is a link to the Online Instructor Led Course as well: