Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
yanny2001
Viewer II

Is a badge reader Logical control or Physical control?

Hi everyone, I am studying Chapter 1: Security Principles and having a question that whether a badge reader is considered as techical (logical) access control or physical access control? As the flash cards said that "In modern organizations, many physical control systems are linked to technical/logical systems, such as badge readers connected to door locks." But some internet source said that badge readers are techical (logical) access control. I am confused and would like to get a correct answer please. 

3 Replies
Early_Adopter
Community Champion

This is where you need to discern best fit/worst fit.

Here my quick thought process, first I’d look at the other answers and try to rule them out.

Then I’d consider the physical environment first. Is it the reader that stop the improper access or is it the door? Mantrap? Lots of men, Dog and guns? A big open space with lots of thermal cameras…?

Then to the badge reader - is it something that is the actual control, or something that facilitates it? Well - I’d say the Door is the most obvious physical control, and the card reader is a component of the Badge Access control system - it helps identify, authenticate and check authority of the person accessing the location. It also has accounting and may also do biometrics/pin. This though in view I’d be leaning towards a technical/logical control - plu

So is it?

deterrent, preventive, detective, and corrective

Or don’t those for and it’s one of:

Physical, Administrative or technical?