cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
CISSP-Wannabe
Viewer II

Experince needed for endorsement

Hi,

I would like to become a CISSP, but am wondering about the experience req's.

I have a 4-year college degree.

I have 10+ years of professional work experience selling hardware and software technology solutions to B2B clients. Most recently as an account executive for an IT MSP.  My work experience consists of prospecting, business development, lead/demand generation, presentations, qualifying customer requirements, proposals, contract negotiation/closing; revenue generation, client/account,management, pipeline and quota attainment RFP responses, etc..My compensation is at least half commission.

The contracts I negotiate and close are for help desk, network, security services, app dev, pen testing, security/vulnerability assessments, IT projects, procurement, cloud hosting, backups, MDM, etc.  Most everything my employer delivers provides value in at least one of the CBK domains.  I'm knowledgeable of and conversant in most of the domains -- inch deep, mile wide style usually in the context of value props/ROI.

I've never worked tech support or been a server/network admin, technician or coder. I sell  services in those realms to technical buyers. To fulfill the contracts I negotiate with clients, my company has its own SMEs in a given domain or outsources/sub-contracts to fill the need.

I feel If I put in the effort I could learn the CBK material enough to pass the exam.  But, does my professional work experience qualify me for certification?

3 Replies
AlecTrevelyan
Community Champion

If you're actually involved in the scoping of the technical aspects of the security related solutions you sell, then, yes, that's potentially valid experience.