cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
KOBIKON
Viewer III

I need help with career path

Hey all,

My name is Coby and I wondered if you can help me one of the biggest questions in the world,

Career path ! ! ! 

I am currently a student for Bsc in computer science, 

To be honest I don't see my self sitting in an office and programming for 12 hours a day and the reason for that is that I just love programming ! not for others .. I love it as a tool and I find it very useful but can't really see myself working there for the next 20 years.

However, I love Cyber security, I love it ! I have passion for malwares and reverse engineering, looking for small details, understanding complex stuff etc..

I have previous experience with system administration so what's more likely to be my next ? 

Also, It is kind of  hard to find first job in Cyber in my country, so I think certifications will be very helpful not only with knowledge but also with the handshake of congratulations your in ! 

thank you helpers ❤️

UPDATE: if you think there is "hands-on" cert -> lead me to get into the industry I would be happy to hear as well.

9 Replies
CraginS
Defender I

Cobi @KOBIKON ,

"I am currently a student for Bsc in computer science, "

1. Can you tell us how far along in your degree program you are? That may help folks advise on options for elective courses.

2. In the USA, BS in Computer Science degree programs are notorious for NOT having adequate security content, either as included material is courses, or as stand-alone courses. If your program has the same limitation, you will need to plot your own training and education on the security aspects as you progress.