cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Schewniie
Viewer II

Should I give up on the CC Exam?

Hi all,

I just took the CC exam this morning and failed it with 3/5 "below proficiency". I took and re-took the training exam until I got to the 90's, Mike Chappelle's class on LinkedIn, and Thor's Course on Udemy still failed. I am very discouraged, especially knowing I can't afford to retake the exam. I thought I studied well and took my time answering the questions, most of them were " Which is the MOST ..." 3 answers look acceptable for various reasons. The wording is not being reflected on ISC2, I understand they want you to use critical thinking, but seems like they are trying to make second guessed you at every question feel very very stupid failing something that most see as a "entry-level" certs .

What should I do

5 Replies
dcontesti
Community Champion

Sorry to hear that you were not successful.  Please, never feel stupid (your word). Unfortunately not being successful, does happen for a number of reasons.

- You may tense up in an exam situation, I do this all the time.  I know the material, etc. but it has caused me to fail more than one exam

- You might be overthinking the questions

OR

- Like many of us, you may speed read the question (thus missing words or inflections)

You do not mention your experience only your study materials, so it would be difficult to make a recommendation on next steps.  Also, you do bring up financial issues.

If your are new to the field, I would recommend that you stay the course, keep studying, maybe gain some first hand experience in the field and then try the exam again at a later date.

If you have more experience, take time, and potentially study for the SSCP or even Security+.

MHOO

d

Schewniie
Viewer II

I am not new to Cybersecurity and I have actual professional experience working in the industry, which makes it even more depressing. That may actually not be for me at all.