Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
SamuelSancho
Newcomer I

Passed CISSP exam (22-03-2018)

Hi All, I have passed the CISSP exam two days ago and I would like to share my experience and how I pass the exam in order to help other people.

I have more than 15 years of experience in IT and more than 10 years in security so I think I had a knowledge about IT before to begin to study the exam.

I have take an online official course in October and began to study.  I have use and read during 6 months the next books and tools:

-CISSP Official Guide (very very long)

-CISSP Study Guide

-Official Practice Test App

My opinion about the exam:

It does not matter how many books you read, the exam is more about deeply understand the concepts. The exam questions are totally different from Practice App or any web page I found in Internet. I think it is a hard exam and you go through different moods during it, from "I'm good" to "I do not have time" or "I do not understand the questions", this last one especially if english is not your native language (as is my case)

As advise:,

-Read the books and be sure you understand the concepts.

-Use nmemonics to remember lists.

-Do as many practice test as you can.

-Once you have more than 75% or 80% of success consistently, go to the exam.

Good luck.

Samuel

23 Replies
EdmundDantes
Newcomer I

Congratulations on passing the exam!  I first became a CISSP in 2001, let it lapse in 2007, then retook the exam in February 2018 (I passed, woohoo!).  Of course, the material is very different and I think it is a much more relevant test now.