cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
rsrinivasanhome
Newcomer II

Discuss on InfoSecurity-Professional - May/June 2021

Query on  "Firewall Hardening essentials"     

I am new to infra had a question on an article present in the magazine  -  InfoSecurity-Professional - May/June 2021 .

Does our firewall in general ssl inspect both inbound and outbound traffic ? In our case inbound traffic is external client traffic reaching our server(via firewall) and outbound traffic is traffic where our server (via firewall ) communicates with external clouds  Is my assumption correct ?   Below is extract from the InfoSecurity-Professional magazine.

"A common issue relates to how organizations deal with encrypted traffic. The obvious first step is to apply inspection of SSL to outbound web traffic—a relatively easy task, although issues such as certificate pinning require some administration and effort. One of the more difficult challenges is handling of inbound encrypted traffic. While the technical solutions are simple, there are high expectations for external web applications, and such inspection may add considerable latency. This creates a dangerous blind spot, since the cert usually is on the load balancer or app server, meaning the firewall is potentially blind to attacks over a connection directly to an application. It is possible for an attacker to perform an exploit over 443 and obtain a reverse web shell, without the firewall ever seeing anything unusual, if the attack is well executed and traffic is not decrypted."

How can we decrypt outbound traffic ? For inbound traffic we  have the certificate / private key to do so . How does certificate pinning help ?
1 Reply
CraginS
Defender I

@rsrinivasanhome wrote:

Query on  "Firewall Hardening essentials"     

I am new to infra had a question on an article present in the magazine  -  InfoSecurity-Professional - May/June 2021 .