cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
non-expert
Newcomer II

What SIEM(s) do/have you use(d)?

Hello,

For those who have had the luxury of using or dealing with SIEMs on the job or in any other circumstance, what are the products you've come across?

I graduated from university not too long ago and the one that seemed to be repeatedly thrown at my face (by name only) was Splunk. After that, I think it was an IBM product that was mentioned but I could be remembering wrong.

Up to now, I've never had the chance to actually play around with one.

I was wondering what the community has touched up with and what would be considered the most used or popular appliance? Smiley Happy

7 Replies
Shannon
Community Champion

@non-expert wrote:

For those who have had the luxury of using or dealing with SIEMs on the job or in any other circumstance, what are the products you've come across?

This post should provide feedback on members' experience with SIEMs, and for more information just hit the tag for a list of other posts. 

(Additional feedback from others here itself will also be welcome)

Shannon D'Cruz,
CISM, CISSP

www.linkedin.com/in/shannondcruz
Caute_cautim
Community Champion

HI @non-expert 

Well I have experienced pre-SIEM situations - watching dropped packets on firewall logs via syslog and analysing the results and analysiing raw syslogs.

Other systems I have dealt with are:

IBM Tivoli Security Information Manager (TSIM) - now redundant and replaced with TSIEM (Tivoli Security Information Event Manager (once again now replaced with Q1Labs, which then became QRadar - which is the current SIEM within my organisation, along with IBM Watson, Vulnerability Manager, Risk Manager, Forensics etc and now it is available via the Cloud in form of QRoC.