Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
SamuelSancho
Newcomer I

Thoughts about SIEMs

Hi all, I am looking for a discussion about SIEMs. What do you think about the idea of correlation rules that, finally, are static rules in a changing world. I see customers that disable the majority of rules in order to avoid a lot of alarms and false positives.

Do you think that SIEMs need to change and to have an approach more related to ingest as much information as it can and, after that, use machine learning, different feeds or similar in order to detect security issues?.

I am not an expert in SIEMs but I see the correlation rules like the static IPS rules where a lot of customers disable the majority or trust in what the vendor says about the review of threats and never look at the IPS.

7 Replies
Baechle
Advocate I

Samuel,

Here's my take on SIEMs.  This is my opinion based on my professional experience, area of skill, and observations.

SIEMs are a valuable tool when equipped and wielded by a Data Engineer/Data Scientist supporting both the Security Operations and System Administrators.

SIEMs are not plug and play, no matter how much their marketing literature tells you they are (as evidented by so many customers turning off every alarm and alert - usually followed in short order by ignoring the SIEM completely).  You need a dedicated SIEM person (preferably with Data Engineering talent or skills) to work the SIEM by continuously customizing it and improving its data aggregation and filtering who will collaborate with each Security staffer and System Admin over time and in an iterative way to develop triggers, alerts, and reports that are valuable to them and their leadership.