Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Dan1010
Newcomer II

Think Tank and Security Briefing ISC2 Webinar Feedback - Give us some Developers and Ops please

Hello ISC2 community!

I am recently catching up on my CPEs and I love the webinars. I was looking for the magazine and upset to find out it was gone. However, I picked up the webinars and they are fantastic! They continue to get better with the dicussions, the diversity of the guests, and the overall quality. Brandon is a fantastic moderator and he keeps the discussions moving along at a nice pace. Think Tanks are certainly my favorite.

One issue I have noticed when watching Security Briefings is that many of the speakers like to say, "Devs are like this, they do that. They should do this because they don't do this." And so on. I have found a lot of this material very misleading.

I am a Software Engineer with 5 years of experience, a CISSP, and CCSP. Yes, a rare creature. I have even lost a potential job because the employer couldnt figure out if I was dev or security, haha. My employment prior to becoming a dev is actually IT management and Information Security. I am Full-Stack and I specialize in automation and DevSecOps.

It pains me to hear many of the guests making some comments about devs when I believe the material is misleading, harmful to DevSecOps culture, and is being stated on a worldwide platform. I think to myself, how many other ISC2 members are watching this and either agreeing or learning that mindset?

I want some Ops and Devs in on the Think Tanks and Security Briefing. I want exposure of actual Software Engineers and Network Engineers to the ISC2 community. I think it is insanely beneficial.
From the dev side: