Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
ericgeater
Community Champion

New phish testing tool. Who dis?

We have a phish test environment, made available by our cybersecurity underwriter.  Some of their templates seem dated (and the LinkedIn one was simply unbelievable), so I want to assemble messages that resemble legitimate messages as they currently arrive at our doorstep.

But I'm new at this, so I'm wondering if anything in phishing fair game?  If I were to grab legitimate emails from vendors and partners out of the spam filter, and use their visual elements in the phish template builder to create similar-looking bait messages, is that cool?  Or is that preying on the trust our employees might have in select transmissions?

Or is it okay, as long as I include the legitimate signature, misspell a word or two, and make a totally bizarre, unbelievable email address?

How do you concoct phish campaigns?  Or do you always use the available templates?

-----------
A claim is as good as its veracity.
1 Reply
CISOScott
Community Champion

I say it is fair game as long as you don't use it as a "gotcha" moment. I once worked with a CISO who purposely set up management above him with phishes and then berated them when they clicked on it. I see phishing awareness as two-fold, to decrease the likelihood of an employee falling for a phish as well as, if not the most important aspect of phishing tests, understanding WHY the person clicked on it. If you do not understand the behavior, you will have a hard time changing it.