Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
ChrisMRT
Newcomer I

Teacher switching to Cyber Security - how should I proceed?

Dear all,

I have been a teacher for almost 10 years (Very good grades at university and also as a teacher; I'm quite good at explaining stuff). I have always been interested in IT stuff and have specialized in my free time in DLT, SSI, and data privacy (as a hobby so to say).

Since I'm looking for a new challenge I'm considering to move into Cyber Security.

Last week I heard about ISC2 and their CC programm - went through the course preparation on Saturday and Sunday, reviewed the contents partly on Tuesday and Wednesday and passed the exam today *yay* 😄

Now I'm thinking whether this could be something for me - but I cannot code. And I don't have any experience in NIDS, HIDS, pentesting or any of the likes. I'm just a tech enthusiast and have lots of experience in Windows, MacOS, video editing and stuff... Plus my background as a teacher.

Do you see a chance for me to switch over to that field, maybe in training people about the importance of CS/ data security? If so, what would be the next step for me to gain more knowledge and experience?

Thanks a lot in advance!

1 Reply
JoePete
Advocate I

@ChrisMRT wrote:

Do you see a chance for me to switch over to that field, maybe in training people about the importance of CS/ data security? If so, what would be the next step for me to gain more knowledge and experience?

It sounds like you may be looking at a role in security awareness training. There are some dedicated vendors out there you could look at. In my last position, I worked pretty closely with HR professional with instructional design experience. It was a really good collaboration. So sometimes you can find those peripheral jobs.