Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
lomar
Newcomer I

SSCP Certification Experience Requirement

I'm a final year student at University pursuing a Bsc. in Computing (4 years program) and I'm currently prepping for the SSCP exam in a couple weeks. 

I need some clarification as it relates to the 1-year experience requirement. Now, seeing that I'm a final year student set to complete the degree this coming June and graduate with the degree in November and I'll be taking the SSCP exam in April, Is it that I won't be able to use my degree as the 1-year experience prerequisite until November?

12 Replies
denbesten
Community Champion

You have a risk to consider.  (ISC)² requires endorsement to complete within 9 months, of which they need at least 6 weeks.  Since you will not have graduated with your degree until 7 months after sitting for the exam, you risk running out of time. If that happens, the official rule is that you must retake the exam and pay another $249.

To mitigate the risk, you might consider submitting for Associate of (ISC)² in April and then submitting for your SSCP endorsement in November. This would give you 2 years to fix anything that might go wrong.

lomar
Newcomer I

Okay, Thanks.

Early_Adopter
Community Champion

A (potentially obvious - but we don't have all the details) question, but why not wait until you either get the degree result or get the experience?

Even if you go for associate, there is a cost inherent maintaining that and the clock is the less generous two years. For the ideal timeline, you could take the SSCP exam right at the end, and it's a job done.