Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Rossva
Contributor I

CPE question - study for CISM

hi all - happy new year !

Just trying to get my head around CPEs.

I’ve submitted a couple type As by completing PDI courses.

I see that you can submit up to 10 CPEs as type B, where type B includes self study for other certifications.

Since I passed CISSP I figured I should pass CISM next so I’ve been doing self study for a couple months for that now, easily 10 hours. In reality quite a bit more I’d guess!

So, can I submit 10 type B CPEs for this? And how can I prove it if audited? Should you take and pass the exam first then submit as the proof maybe ?

Happy to be guided! Please let me know!

Appreciate it
6 Replies
Rossva
Contributor I

Edit : never mind. Think I’ve worked it out. Seems you can claim up to 5 CPEs for reading a book. So I’ve submitted that. Makes sense. Thanks for looking anyway !
AlecTrevelyan
Community Champion

Hey @Rossva,

Group A CPEs are earned for activities related to the domains of your certification. Therefore CPEs earned while studying for the CISM would be Group A.

Just to reiterate, one of the examples of Group A CPEs in the CPE Handbook is "Self-study related to research for a project or preparing for a certification examination".

Generally speaking, 1 hour of study is worth 1 CPE, but there is a hard limit for how many CPEs you can claim for studying for a certification which is 40. So feel free to claim CPEs for as many hours as you spend studying up to 40 - this used to be 30 as mentioned in the link below.

In terms of supporting evidence, you can just take a picture of your learning materials and upload that with the CPE submission.

me_shail
Community Champion

Thanks Rossva

I have another question regrading CPE. SO I did my CCSP back in May 2019. Passed my CISSP in Dec 2019(endorsement done and waiting on ISC2). Paid my AMF in August 2019.

Do I need to pay another AMF for CISSP?