Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Bruss9313
Viewer

CERTIFICATION

I have been working in the healthcare industry for 7 years, but as a Service Desk Analyst. We were a fiscal agent for Medicaid. We had to be HIPPA compliant and follow rules when dealing with PHI and PII. Encryption a played a role in my daily tasks. I want to take the certification exam for HCISSP. Do I need to compete the 2 year work in the field. I currently work at a Children's Hospital.
5 Replies
June
Viewer

What part of your job revolved around security?

You need a minimum of two years of cumulative, paid, full-time work experience in one or more knowledge areas of the HCISPP Common Body of Knowledge (CBK).

Bruss9313
Viewer

I work on the Service Desk at a Children's Hospital. Prior to that I worked as a contractor of the State of Delaware Social Services.

Dealing with PHI and HIPPA

emb021
Advocate I

Ok.

Take a look at the domains for HCISPP.

Do you feel the work you do falls into any of those domains, and that you've don't that for at least 2 years?

Then you'd good.

Also, its HIPAA.  Its important to spell it right.

---
Michael Brown, CISSP, HCISPP, CISA, CISM, CGEIT, CRISC, CDPSE, GSLC, GSTRT, GLEG, GSNA, CIST, CIGE, ISSA Fellow
CraginS
Defender I

@Bruss9313 wrote:

I work on the Service Desk at a Children's Hospital. Prior to that I worked as a contractor of the State of Delaware Social Services.

Dealing with PHI and HIPPA

Bernadette,

"Dealing with PHI and HIPPA [sic]" may mean simply being aware of and following policies and procedures for protecting sensitive information in the system. That level is not likely to qualify as experience in the  HCISSP CBK domains, especially if you were on a Tier 1 service desk. You will have to evaluate your actual experience and relate it to the CBK domains. If you were operating at Tier 2 or Tier 3 in the service desk hierarchy you may be able to demonstrate requisite experience.