cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Advocate I

Privacy: Don't Convert Your Google SIte

Do you have a Google Site? If you view it while logged into your Google account, you will see a message at the top of the page:

NEW Convert your site to the new Google Sites Try it now

 

Do not convert to the new format unless you are OK with causing all your site visitors to give up a bit more privacy to Google. The new Google Sites does give cooler tools for site design and layout. However, the conversion process adds a change not described in the conversion information. Any URL link in  New Google Site becomes a Google referral link, just like we see in Google search results pages. All your site visitors will get lo provide Google with with tracking links every time they link from your site to the target URL you provided.

 

Yes, you can try the conversion and not implement it as long as you do not Publish the converted site. I accidentally clicked Publish on one of mine (https://sites.google.com/site/shmooschedules/  - now a dead link) before learning about the new tracking referral feature. In order to revert to the saved version I had to give up that URL for a new one. That site is now

https://sites.google.com/site/shmooschedules1/

 

I wonder how long Google will let us keep our old sites before forcing migration to the new format?

 

 

 

 

Dr. D. Cragin Shelton, CISSP
Dr.Cragin@iCloud.com
https://CraginS.blogspot.com/
My Community Profile
My LinkedIn Profile
Tags (1)