Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Moe
Newcomer I

Whats a great compliment to the CISSP?

With there being a plethora of security based certifications, which would you say would compliment the CISSP best?
CISM
CIPP
CRISP
CISA
TOGAF
20 Replies
Stpn2me
Newcomer III

To answer that question, you have to know what field within Cyber you are trying to undertake. Since I"m retired Military and I now work for the Govt, I like the NIST standards of controls to make networks secure. I've taken the time to study the Reference Management Framework(RMF), so I took and passed the Certified Authorization Professional (CAP) exam. I think for the track I'm taking, it's the perfect fit!

oradba888
Newcomer III

on an off tangent, I have been an Oracle DBA for many years, and now an SSCP working to CISSP,

i think securing data ( on a database level), compliments my SSCP

eromsi
Viewer III

Hi, 

i have read all the comments posted and personally i think it depends on the current role you occupy in your organisation. I am a core Networking person so i think CEH would really be a nice to have. As CISSP looks to secure an information system, CEH finds ways of bringing it down. Also If you want to get your hands a little dirty as well it will be a good adventure because it has some hands on activities. Smiley Happy 

Clorth0
Newcomer I

Depends on what you're looking to tackle. Someone prior mentioned CCSP, and I would agree with that. But again, it comes down to whether or not to fall on the technical spectrum, or the managerial.

sdurbin
Newcomer III

As many have covered, good advice would be to choose certifications that complement your career aspirations.

It is certainly a cliche, but consider where you want to be and not where you are.

Since, whichever you choose... it will likely influence your future career trajectory!

jrisner1
Newcomer III