cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
fedoracore123
Newcomer III

What exactly is the requirement for getting CISSP certified

Hi everyone, 

This has been a concern for me, for sometime now (Almost two years). I am getting conflicting information regarding the requirements to get CISSP certified. According to Mike Chapple (Author of one of the resources) he is giving this answer "You need to have five years of cybersecurity experience to earn CISSP. I’d suggest starting with Security+" 

Here mentions that "Cybersecurity experience" not just IT experience. 

Who is correct here? I have second thoughts of taking the exam because of this. I have more than 14 years of experience. When I checked with other two  CISSP certified individuals, they point out that you need experience in any one of the domains not "cybersecurity" specifically.

24 Replies
AviOz
Newcomer I

Hi fedoracore123,

You can find all the information details regarding to be a CISSP certified on the following link including the work experience.

https://www.isc2.org/Certifications/CISSP

Good luck on your CISSP study journey 🙂

fedoracore123
Newcomer III

Thanks mate, So Mike Chappel is incorrect then.  

fedoracore123
Newcomer III

Thanks this makes sense. I think Mike needs to correct his statement.

AndreaMoore
Community Manager

@Keerthana wrote:

i think this link may be helpful:

https://www.isc2.org/Certifications/CISSP/experience-requirements

@fedoracore123 it is best to use the information found on the isc2.org website. Use this link as a resource that was posted above. 

ISC2 Community Manager
fedoracore123
Newcomer III

Mike Chappell is giving a different answer...
denbesten
Community Champion

@fedoracore123 wrote:
Mike Chappell is giving a different answer...

This is an opportunity to understand how a CISSP would analyze this disconnect.