Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
0xDEADBEEEF
Viewer

CISSP - Obtain the cert but not actively employed as a security analyist?

I want to obtain the CISSP certification, however I am not actively employed as a security analyst. I work as a web application developer. I am training and obtaining certs to become a security expert on my team of developers. My goal is to obtain this credential (among others) in order to validate my knowledge in this space. I have already obtained Google Cybersecurity Cert and Security+. I interviewed a DevSecOps with his CISSP and he recommended I do CISSP.

Can I still qualify and take the exam, even if I am not in an active security role?

Thanks!

7 Replies
JoePete
Advocate I

@0xDEADBEEEF wrote:

Can I still qualify and take the exam, even if I am not in an active security role?

I think you would be looking at being an associate. That said, I would assume some of what you are doing qualifies as experience in Domain 8 (Software Development). 

The CISSP is more a capstone credential than stepping stone. It is intended to validate knowledge and experience gained over several years, across a range of domains, mostly directed at management-level professionals. If you're looking at an analyst role, I suppose there is no harm in taking the exam and being an associate, but I'd focus on broadening your experience. It will not only help accumulate years toward being a CISSP, but the exam content will make a lot more sense if you have real-world familiarity with the content.

Steve-Wilme
Advocate II

It might also be worth looking at the CSSLP certification as that's specifically about software development.  From what I recall it covers the material, but is structured in a more traditional way.

-----------------------------------------------------------
Steve Wilme CISSP-ISSAP, ISSMP MCIIS
emb021
Advocate I

@0xDEADBEEEF To add to what others said.