Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
mnold
ISC2 Team

Share Your Story: When You Passed Your CISSP Exam

I’ve been working for (ISC)2 for almost 5 years and over the years I’ve met many CISSPs at (ISC)2 and industry events. In our conversations I'll often ask them about their experience taking and passing the CISSP exam, as it’s a huge accomplishment and everyone I’ve heard from remembers the day they found out that they passed.

One story that has stuck with me is about a member who was taking the exam back when it was paper-based testing and about half way through his exam he realized that two pages were stuck to one another, so all of his answers from then on were off. He luckily was able to erase and adjust all of his answers in time and he later found out that he passed. Talk about a nerve-wrecking experience!

I’d love to hear your story…

88 Replies
j_M007
Community Champion

I guess my first reply didn't get past layer 2! `-)

Anyway, you post some interesting thoughts. Having heard from others on these discussion forums, mostly all agree that it the exam is tough, but not undoable. In fact, it is excellent news that the exam is tough because knowledge is more than facts or figures, if it's OneFish, TwoFish, Blowfish or Catfish -- it's all important to know I guess (makes me think of Dr. Seuss, but I digress.). But what is being tested thankfully is not details, rather the thinking and understanding behind the concepts covered by the CBK.

What makes a competent CISSP (and please correct me if I am wrong, CISSPs out there; I am speaking as an aspiring one!) is not that they remember details about AES or Feistel or whatever. Rather, it is about how they respond to situations effectively, ethically, professionally and deftly.