Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Jerry
Newcomer III

Questions about CAP Certification Exam

I am a CISSP.  I recently passed the HCISPP and that exam, to me, seemed to be something that I wouldn't have easily passed if I didn't work in those areas (especially contracts and third parties) every week.  

I have some knowledge of RMF processes.  I don't work at it every day, but I have an opportunity to move into that area.  

I am not great with memorizing and regurgitating facts and sentences.  Is the CAP exam something that can be passed with study or is it something that should only be attempted if you work in that area?    

11 Replies
Mayesbk
Newcomer I

Hi Jerry,

The CAP exam requires quite a bit of study in order to pass.  If you work with the RMF process every day, you'll certainly be familiar with the terminology and steps but you'll need study to conquer the more obscure aspects covered in the CAP exam. 

Jerry
Newcomer III

I guess that is the opposite answer? I don't work with the RMF process. The question is: Do I even have a chance?
Mayesbk
Newcomer I

With study you'll do just fine.  I took an RMF course through BAI which helped but the majority was learned through a few weeks of intense study. 

Jerry
Newcomer III

@Mayesbk wrote:

With study you'll do just fine.  I took an RMF course through BAI which helped but the majority was learned through a few weeks of intense study. 

Thanks!  Which BAI course?  Was it worth it?

Mayesbk
Newcomer I

I took the RMF for DoD course https://rmf.org/rmf-for-dod-it-training/ .  It isn't a CAP prep course, however it does teach the RMF process A-Z.  It's a great course for someone new to RMF.  If you're just interested in passing the exam, you can study the references listed on this site and use one of the online question banks to prepare.

Jerry
Newcomer III

Thanks!

MapsCat
Viewer II