cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
junghyun
Newcomer I

How I studied for the CISSP

Hello there,

Hope you're all doing well amidst the pandemic. This being my first post in this community, I am happy to start it with a positive venue. I took the CISSP exam yesterday, and all things considered with the recent changes in the CBK I thought it would be good to share my experience.

As preamble, I have a strong information security background, with over fifteen years of work experience in information technology management.

I first studied CISSP in 2019, completed all the eight domains during an instructor-led eight-class session over a month-long weekend course. Now, I can't account for others but for this certification I don't believe a six-day bootcamp will suffice to pass. Chances are, you will mostly be overwhelmed by the sheer amount of knowledge than what your brain can possibly absorb in that very short timespan. Even one month to cover two domains per week was very aggressive to me.

I strongly recommend planning a minimum of three months, and be ready to dedicate yourself significantly.

In May 2021, since we were back to the "new normal" I decided it was time I got over it, then I realized that things had changed. The new CBK wasn't released yet, although in the news the CAT in Pearson was already challenging the candidates with new materials. I basically had three choices. Either I subscribe to another CISSP bootcamp, wait until September for the new CBK, or just use my old materials.