Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

CISSP failed on first attempt

Hi Folks,

I failed my CISSP exam on first attempt Domain 1,2 and 8 Below proficiency, Domain 4 above, and 5,6,7 near.

I studied ISC official books, used ISC practice exams book and scored 80+. I can't afford official CISSP training and my employer is also not willing to pay it. 

Please suggest me how to restart my preparation.

2 Replies
JoeB_IG
Newcomer II

Hi, 

I failed my first attempt.  It was painful (considering it was out-of-pocket) and very discouraging.  Also, my employer would not pay for training or testing.

I didn't pay for any expensive resident boot camp or other high value training.  What I did do was study available open-source resources... every day at the gym, while on the treadmill, I would view Youtube videos specific to a particular domain.  On my commute to and from work, I would listen to podcasts, or youtube/cybrary presentations.  I did this for over a year before I felt remotely capable of retesting.

If there is a local ISSA chapter, you could contact them about their boot camps (the one I belong to offers a boot camp that was held over 3 hours, 2 nights a week for 8 weeks).

You are not alone... a lot of people have been 1st time fails... 

Steve-Wilme
Advocate II