cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Parthenon
Newcomer II

CISSP STUDY TIME

Hey Guys, 

I'm studying to take the CISSP. How much time, conservatively, should I budget? I want to go ahead and schedule the exam in advance for a time I anticipate being 'ready' as a motivator. 

I passed the CISA exam, which I studied for about 2.5 months at 2 hours a night/5 days a week. I expect that this exam will be more intensive and as such, I'll probably need to dedicate more time to it. 

Any help and advice is super appreciated! 

Thanks!

13 Replies
darie17
Newcomer II

Hi there,

you did not provide enough Information about your background, so it's hard to estimate how much YOU would need to prepare for the CISSP exam.

Therefore I'll just take myself as an example: I had 5 years full time experience in the security field by the time I took the exam (and passed on the first attempt). I invested approximately 150-160 hours in learning and practicing - at the beginning less (maybe somewhere around 5-8 hours a week), in the last 3-4 weeks up to 25 hours a week (and I was still working full time). I registered the exam 3,5 months in advance, which helped me keep the focus.

No matter how much you invest in learning: do not underestimate the CISSP exam. Expect at least some tricky questions.

Hope this helps.

Parthenon
Newcomer II

Thanks Darie17. That is helpful!

sneakers
Newcomer I