cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
DAM
Newcomer II

CISSP Exam fail 12/16/17

Hello ISC2 community,

I studied my a*# off for this exam, I have practical experience and yet here we are. I failed with a score of 678. This one hurts. I'm almost at my wits end when it comes to preparing for this test. Now the format has changed and from the sounds of it, the testing experience is going to be worse. For a test that's not supposed to be very technical, I had a lot of pinpointed questions when it comes to communication and network security. I will continue to pursue this certification, but any assistance from any of you will be greatly appreciated.

DM

31 Replies
Early_Adopter
Community Champion

Hi DM,

Sorry to hear that.

I'll start by saying that nothing specific can be shared about the exam, however you were very close(essentially 2.2% give or take for weighting). It really isn't a technical exam, but the understaning why's, are very important

There is a lot of advice on the exam prep in these forums, and I don't know what prep you took but here would be my plan of action if I wanted to retest:

1. First look at the Common Body of knowledge and try to work out specifically where you felt not so comfortable, particularly any acronyms you felt you didn't have a full handle on - it maybe that networking is something to look at - but there may be others;
  2. Try to shoot for a retest as soon as practicable while you are still fresh - but give yourself enough time to cover all of the CBK. Consider the materials you used first time round. Where they current? Did they explain well? Was there another that you might consider?