Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
MattDH
Newcomer II

CCSP Exam

I’m currently studying for the CCSP exam and I have some questions about the exam format.

Can you flag questions for review? I’m sure you cannot now.

If you reach a passing score at question 100, will the test end early?

Many thanks.
11 Replies
dcontesti
Community Champion

@MattDH 

I had not heard that the CCSP went to CAT, however maybe @AndreaMoore can provide insight into this.

AndreaMoore
Community Manager

@MattDH 

https://www.isc2.org/Frequently-Asked-Questions#accordion-29bc23be1a3a4eb296321631a61650e0

This page should help address your questions. 

Q:

When taking an (ISC)² exam, can I skip a question and then go back to answer it?

A:
No. (ISC)² offers two types of computer-based exams – linear and adaptive – however neither exam type allows for candidates to skip a question and return to it later.
Q:

What is Computer Adaptive Testing (CAT) and what exams use that test style?

A:
(ISC)² uses the CAT format for our CISSP exam in English only. CAT allows for shorter exams (3 hours instead of 6, as few as 100 items instead of 250) and is a more precise evaluation of a candidate’s proficiency in a given domain. For more information on CISSP CAT exams, visit https://www.isc2.org/certifications/CISSP/CISSP-CAT.

ISC2 Community Manager
MattDH
Newcomer II

Thank you for the information, very helpful indeed!
ShadowPunch07
Newcomer II

Hey there Matt! I took the exam yesterday. Unfortunately (and this was new to me), you cannot flag or go back to any previous questions during the CCSP exam. It also does not end abruptly at 100Q like the CISSP-CAT exam did.
MattDH
Newcomer II

Really hope you passed!!

Thanks for confirming. All the material I’ve been studying (Offical study book second edition, and Mike Chapple’s LinkedIn course) all say about flagging questions for review, so was a little confused!
ShadowPunch07
Newcomer II