Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
KoolM1
Viewer

Am I doing this right? Unemployed NOOB studying SSCP.

I've had a Fourth Amendment fetish since I was a babe. I also need a job and I'm ripe for a career change. This has led me to think network security is the logical thing to pursue.

Me: my professional background is in managing scientists in stem cell biology. I have no professional or educational background in technology. However, I've been using Linux on the desktop for about 15 years now and tech has always been easy for me. Most importantly I enjoy figuring out things I don't understand.

For the last couple months I've been studying for the SSCP exam. I took the CISSP practice exam and was scoring ~50% with zero studying and with a couple months of mainly not studying I'm scoring 60 - 66% on the SSCP.

After having bought the Darrel Gibson book, reading it cover to cover, and doing a tiny bit of studying, I'm concerned I'm pursing the wrong certification. Should I have instead selected Comptia's Security+?

Is it naive to think that getting SSCP certified or Comptia Security+ certified will lead to a job? What else should I be doing?

TLDR: Linux enthusiast with a 4th amendment fetish seeks security job despite no professional or educational background in such. Is pursuing SSCP certification smart or is it dumb? Comptia Security+ instead? What else?

1 Reply
CISOScott
Community Champion