cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
etan74-IT
Viewer

WHAT CERTIFICATION SHOULD I PERSUE?

Hi Everyone!

I am currently serving AD in the DoD, and am going to be transferring out in a little over a year. I have over 6 years of experience in COMSEC Management, Networking and Transmissions Systems. I currently hold a Top Secret Clearance. I want to get into the Cybersecurity field. Everything I look up on the internet or hear from people seems to be contradicting about what certifications I should be perusing, or whether I should go to college or not. I am eager and willing to put in the work for whichever direction would boost my career and chances of getting hired, but I am struggling to see which direction I should pursue. Any advice on what certifications or education I should pursue would be very helpful.  Thank you in advance!

5 Replies
Lamont29
Community Champion

Thank you for your service Etan! We always look for experienced cybersecurity personnel at SAIC, especially when they hold government security clearances. Do you hold any industry certifications right now? Check us out. Use my link: https://rolp.co/WHrEB , which will enable me to track you throughout your process when you are ready.
Lamont Robertson
M.S., M.A., CISSP, CISM, CISA, CRISC, CDPSE, MCSE
denbesten
Community Champion

@emb021 wrote:

You said: "I have over 6 years of experience in COMSEC Management, Networking and Transmissions Systems".

I have no idea what that is.  While I agree that pursuing either CC and/or Sec+ is a good idea (along with Net+), I would recommend you take a look at the CISSP and see if you might already meet the experience requirements for it.  If so, I'd recommend getting it over the CC.

I concur with Michael's advise, especially that one is best to gain the required experience before taking the exam.  There is no training quite as effective as OTJ.  (On-The-Job).