Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
ChristianC
Viewer II

Jobs

Hello all! I recently passed my CC exam and am excited to be joining the community! I have ten years of experience as a retail manager for a very large well known home improvement store and am desperate to get into cybersecurity. I have experience leading teams of 140+, operational and some technical experience from solving issues on a daily basis but no formal tech experience. I’m wondering if the CC is enough to help me get my foot in the door while I continue my education and go for my CISSP? Thank you for any help!
4 Replies
Early_Adopter
Community Champion

You should look at landing a role in IT, find somewhere that does its own security and be keen and ask to try it.

I think CC is very unlikely to do/get the job for you on its own. However if you get lucky, you get lucky… good luck!
denbesten
Community Champion

@emb021 wrote:

What companies are looking for is knowledge, skill, and experience.  Certs by and large indicate knowledge.  Very few indicate skills.  Some may indicate experience.

This is an excellent insight.

One might claim "skill and experience" is a chicken-vs-egg problem, but it is not because a perfect match is not needed.  Yes, a closer match is better, but any IT experience can be helpful, as can any physical security experience.  For example, a university sysadmin might emphasize insider threat handling; an EMT might discuss their "incident response" experience and a law enforcement officer might compare the decision to issue a ticket with "risk analysis".  The goal being to figure out how to best align your story to the details mentioned in the job description.

If you truly have no relevant experience then cybersecurity may not be the job for you today.  But, it may be in the future, once you do some time in that Sysadmin, EMT, LEO, etc. job that will allow you to develop the compelling story.