cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
rdhdallas
Viewer

China and laptop encryption

Hello all,

I'm reaching out to this knowledgeable group for direction.  My current company is about to expand it's business into China and I'm not having much luck tracking down the current China law on bringing encrypted devices into China. 

Any pointers on where I can find current information?

Thanks,

Robert

5 Replies
str12
Viewer II

Try the Chinese Consulate.

T0deaC
Viewer III

What specific encrypted devices and what scenario you are talking about? Generally, the national cybersecurity law and OSCCA does care about any crypto products to be used in China.

T0deaC
Viewer III

better reach out to USITO.

dhouser
Newcomer III

I am not a lawyer, but I've been on multiple big projects launching into China with enormous investment $$$ floating around, so have a bit of experience.  Consider this advice, and not authoritative.

There aren't hard and fast rules. It's all geo-political, and risk-based decisions.

If you're a technology company, the answers might be different, particularly if your corporation is on unfriendly terms with China (I'm looking at you Google) or if Snowden papers showed your firm colluded w/ the NSA.  But, let's presume you're not on that small list.

Basically, they're not going to care what laptop OS or crypto your team members are carrying flying into China, doing business, and flying home.  Could they?  Absolutely, your guys could be back-roomed at the border.  Will they?  Almost certainly not.  The dreaded, "They're going to ask for our keys" seems an exception rather than the rule, and is more common to network infrastructure than executive laptops.  I think the better questions are, "What should {execs/privileged account holders} carry into China? What contingency & OpSec plans should be utilized while there?  What should happen upon return?"