Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
CoreyO
Newcomer II

Why do we not hear a lot about the SSCP?

I am studying for the SSCP and don't see a lot on it. I have a book by CRC Press Official (ISC) Guide to the SSCP CBK. I want to take and also take the CISSP later but am in the thick of working in the systems and want to incorporate strong security practices. What are some recommendations? I also wonder what have other s used to train for and pass the SSCP. Has anyone found any good free resources to help get ready for the certification? Please share the wealth and your success.

Kind Regards,

CoreyO

Never let the Fear of striking out stop you from playing!!! - Babe Ruth

Every Strike out brings me closer to the next Home Run!!! - Babe Ruth

Kind Regards
CoreyO

15 Replies
planois
Newcomer III

I recommend the book titled "SSCP Systems Security Certified Practitioner All-in-One Exam Guide" by Darril Gibson, and as an additional read the book "SSCP (ISC)2 Systems Security Certified Practitioner Official Study Guide" by George Murphy.

garrettds11
Newcomer I

CoreyO,

I know of a couple of people at my company with an SSCP, and have pondered obtaining it myself. However, there is a vastly larger number of people, including myself, that have opted for CompTIA's Security+ certification. These two are similar certs from what I hear, and the latter being far more popular. If federal work is in scope for you, then both have been approved for the DoD 8570 information assurance baseline certifications.

See here: https://iase.disa.mil/iawip/Pages/iabaseline.aspx

planois
Newcomer III

I found the SSCP to be more detailed and comprehensive than Security+

SpencerC
Viewer III

You deffo need both of the above books to pass SSCP and even then it was still a hard exam to pass.