Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
mnold
ISC2 Team

Share Your Story: When You Passed Your CISSP Exam

I’ve been working for (ISC)2 for almost 5 years and over the years I’ve met many CISSPs at (ISC)2 and industry events. In our conversations I'll often ask them about their experience taking and passing the CISSP exam, as it’s a huge accomplishment and everyone I’ve heard from remembers the day they found out that they passed.

One story that has stuck with me is about a member who was taking the exam back when it was paper-based testing and about half way through his exam he realized that two pages were stuck to one another, so all of his answers from then on were off. He luckily was able to erase and adjust all of his answers in time and he later found out that he passed. Talk about a nerve-wrecking experience!

I’d love to hear your story…

88 Replies
denbesten
Community Champion

"Security" has been in my job titles for over 15 years, yet when a new boss walked in the door 3 years ago, he managed to make me seriously doubt my own talent.  He announced that everyone in the Security department needed a certification of some sort.  Although not a bad goal, he was using it to build a caste system.   At the time, he was our company's first and only CISSP.  He displayed his cert proudly and made it clear that he ruled the roost.

My assignment was Security+, which he figured I could "probably" handle it. Really, all he did was ruffle my feathers because I knew I was better than that.   Sitting in a meeting a few weeks later, I spotted Shon's book on his shelf and knew what I had to do.