Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
lightkun_yagami
Newcomer II

Passed CISSP exam on 7/12/2018, but leaving for USAF bootcamp on the 31st

Passed the test on 7/12/2018 and it was one of the happiest moments of my life. Endorsement application was sent on the 17th of this month. 

I was just wondering, do you have any recommendation for a book that I can use so I will not lose everything I studied to pass the test? I am looking for a book with less content than the Sybex Study Guide, but still enough to refresh my memory. I will be away for 6 months for military training and planning to pick up the best book right after the training so I can freshen up my CISSP knowledge.

And do you guys think to be away from doing anything related to Cyber Security will affect my chances of landing a security-related job when I get back from the military training? Going to the reserves, so, I still have to do a civilian job. Just worried that when I come back and applied for a security position that I can't really answer questions during the interview because some concepts might have been forgotten.

Thank you for any help!

5 Replies
denbesten
Community Champion

11th hour CISSP by Eric Conrad.  Also build up on BrightTALK CPEs if you have any downtime.

CraginS
Defender I

Security Engineering, A Guide to Building Dependable Distributed Systems, 2nd Edition, by Ross Anderson

One of the best books available for both initial introduction and deep discussion on a wide range of topic we should know.

The entire book is available free online, each chapter its own PDF file. 

https://www.cl.cam.ac.uk/~rja14/book.html

Be sure to use that link or confirm you are looking at the 2nd edition; the 1st edition is also up on the net.

The book is the basis for both undergrad and graduate courses in our field, and is a much more broadly tuned treatise on important concepts in our field.